The Airport

20160202_185542[1]Where is your favorite place to be?

As I sit here on the plane to Hawaii writing this I’m engulfed with a sense of wonder, appreciation, and gratitude.

Wonder at that fact that humans created these “flying machines” that started within someones imagination. Appreciation for the oppertunity to live in a time where all these things that would feel like magic to an off worlder are simply common place. Gratitude for being alive on this blue marble we call earth, for my friends, my family whom I love from the bottom of my heart.

When I’m at an aiport I get a feeling of love, excitement, and reunion. Standing at the gate of the T2 international depature gate in Melbourne you see hordes of families saying goodbye to loved ones leaving for their first around the world adventure, solo travellers looking to find themselves in India or in the depths of the Amazon, and dreamers seeking to make a life for themselves in London, Dubai, and the U.S just to name a few.

Then there’s the arrival gates at Melbourne Airport. The loved ones you said goodbye to come back, greeted with hugs, kisses, in that moment hate is shoved aside and all that remains is love. In my experience that’s what the aiport is best in bringing out of us. Love for each other.

This is why I go to the aiport when a family member is leaving the country, I know within those 20 minutes of waiting to be checked in, those 5 minutes getting a goodbye coffee, those last 30 seconds before they stroll through the departure gate. I’m going to give them all the love I have to give.

Years ago I read an article on the mind living in the future, the past, and the present. I felt the esscence of the article was ‘we must have a balance between these three realities’. I’ve been a person whose mind lived much in the past or the future and not enough in the present. Slowly and slowly I’m refining this skill.

One line in the article that allowed me to see the world and my loved ones within it, with a new set of lenses. “There is no guarantee you’ll see someone again”. I’ve read few lines that made me take a step back and reacess my life. This was one of them. People have often commented how I give out-of-this-world hugs.

When I hug someone I give all the love I can give to that person, even if they don’t realise it. Why? The reality is that may be the last time I see them. If it is the last time I want to leave them knowing I gave all the love I could give. In that moment, a hug locks the door behind hate, jealousy, and anger. With a sign on the door reading “do not disturb”.

The airport is where for some earthians, dreams begin. Whether your dream is to travel the world, start a new life in a foreign land, or broadening the mind by experiencing different cultures. They can start at the aiport. For me it’s traveling overseas, getting out of the comfort zone of Melbourne and exploring who I am.

I’m aware I have dreams that don’t seem realistic. I dream of the world becoming the healthiest it can be, I dream of seeing the world converge and making change on a universal scale. I dream of every earthian cooperating through our obstacles and endevours. These may be crazy dreams but their mine. And fullfilling these dreams starts with a single step. Maybe onto an airoplane.

Whatever your dreams are never feel they are out of reach. Some humans never thought we would reach the moon, Walt Disney was told he lacked imagination and had no good ideas, Oprah Winfrey was publicly fired from her first television job as an anchor for getting “too emotionally invested in her stories.”
Like a baby learning to walk, it starts with a single step.

Love you all!
Michael

One thought on “The Airport

  1. This speaks to me on so many levels, I love the feeling of anticipation before taking flight. The thoughts of adventure and the unknown. The appeal of new experiences and meeting people from diverse cultures and backgrounds. I’m a believer in dreams being the product of our inner most desires and that is what it means to be human. To dream, to create, to inspire, to grow and learn from all the world has to offer. I also think to myself that I want to change the world in a positive way and that is a dream that I hold very closely to my heart. It is such a comfort to know that their are others not restrained by the monotony of society and still allow themselves to think outside the confines of what is deemed possible and impossible.

    Like

Leave a comment